Home / Spiritual / Mental Health and the 7 Chakras System

Mental Health and the 7 Chakras System

mental health
mental health

How the 7 Chakras system can affect your mental health

Our mental health is strong related with the balance of the 7 chakras. When its energy flow is disrupted or depleted, the body experiences physiological and psychological changes that can cause disease and imbalance. A stressful environment, life problems, losses, or traumatic events can create blockages in the energy flow that can translate into psychological symptoms such as anxiety and worry

A Brief History on Chakras System

Derived from the Sanskrit word “wheel,” chakras are considered the centers of energy in the body. Chakras are centers where major nerve points meet and where life force, or “prana,” flows harmoniously. Hindu and Buddhist traditions believe that when the flow of energy is blocked, it disrupts physical, emotional, and mental health.that connect to nerve points or plexuses in the body. According to the Western practices, these seven points affect the nervous system and the endocrine glands. Each chakra is associated with a specific color from the seven rays of the spectrum light, or rainbow. Color light is an electromagnetic wave that affects our bioenergy or auric field.

7 chakras

1. Root Chakra

The first chakra is the Root chakra. Located in the tail bone, this chakra is associated with the color red. The gland responsible for fight or flight, the adrenal medulla is connected to the Root Chakra. The Root chakra regulates the sense of security, survival, and instinct.  We feel depleted, hopeless, ungrounded, anxious, and lonely when this chakra is out of balance. To balance this chakra, energize your space and your body by adding the color red. For example, add red flowers to your work or home environment, wear a garnet stone, or eat some red berries.

2. Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is the Sacral chakra. Located in the pelvis , it is associated with the color orange.  The adrenal glands and the genitourinary system are connected to the Sacral Chakra . This chakra regulates the basic emotional and sexual needs as well as creativity and confidence.  Seems like we feel emotionally imbalanced, lonely, and might struggle with addictions and dependence when this chakra is out of balance. To balance this chakra, energize your space with the color orange, for example wearing a carnelian stone, adding more orange food to your diet, or wearing orange clothing.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is the Solar Plexus chakra. Located under your ribs and in the diaphragm, this energetic vortex is associated with the color yellow. The Solar Plexus Chakra is connected to the digestive system and the adrenal glands. This chakra regulates our fears, sense of power, and gut feelings.  We experience fears, eating disorders, anxiety, and loss of control when this chakra is out of balance. To balance this chakra, energize your space with the color yellow, for example by adding yellow flowers, wearing a yellow citrine crystal, or adding lemon to your water.

4. Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the Heart chakra. Located in the center of your chest around the heart area,  this chakra is associated with the color green. The Heart Chakra is connected to the heart, the thymus, and the endocrine system. This chakra relates to compassion, love for self and others, connection, and safety. We feel disconnected, hopeless, and rejected when this chakra is out of balance . To balance this chakra, energize your space with green plants, wear a green jade, and eat more leafy-green vegetables.

5. Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is the Throat chakra.  Located in the throat area, this energetic vortex is associated with the color blue. The Throat Chakra is connected to the thyroid gland and regulates our sense of security, leadership, expression, and fluid communication.  We feel anxious, paralyzed, and insecure When this chakra is out of balance. To balance this chakra, energize your space by connecting with the ocean. Try wearing a Lapis Lazuli stone or eating blueberries.

6. Third-Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is the Third-Eye chakra. Located between your eye brows and associated with the color indigo. The Third Eye Chakra is connected to the pineal gland and regulates our inner guidance or intuition, thoughts, and dreams. Seems like we may feel imbalanced and judgmental, unable to access our intuition, and have difficulty sleeping when this chakra is out of balance . To balance this chakra, wear an azurite stone, use lavender essential oils, or connect with the indigo night sky.

7. Crown Chakra

Finally, the seventh chakra is the Crown chakra, located at the crown of your head and associated with the color violet. The Crown Chakra is connected to pituitary gland and the central nervous system.  Our consciousness, inner wisdom, imagination, and spirituality are depend on the balance of this chakra. So, we feel depressed, hopeless, confused, and disconnected when this chakra is out of ballance. To balance this chakra, wear amethyst, eat figs, and adorn your space with violets.

Balancing your 7 chakras system helps you maintain your mental health and to prevent mental illness. Because balancing the chakras starts, first of all, with silencing the mind. When you are able to silence the “monkey mind”, you begin to be able to hear yourself. Hearing your inner silence is the first step in the healing process. Also, the spiritual awakening process we are all experiencing depends on our level of consciousness.

Facebook Comments

About DarkMatter

Check Also

indigo children test

Indigo Children Test

Indigo Children Test Are you intuitive, truth lover, wise like an old man? Are you …


  1. I’d need to check with you here. Which is not something I generally do!
    I appreciate reading a post which will get folks think.
    Additionally, thanks for enabling me to remark!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *